Tuesday, 19 September 2017

Perfect To Go

Yorks in Birmingham - one of our previous Cafes of the Year -  has an interesting menu plus £1 filter coffee to go offer.

Monday, 18 September 2017

Friday, 15 September 2017

Roasted By Us

 200 Degrees in Birmingham takes its coffee seriously - roasting their own plus coffee classes in their barista school.



Thursday, 14 September 2017

Wednesday, 13 September 2017

Honesty Coffee

 Urban Coffee in Birmingham beats the queues by offering bulk brew coffee in an airpot and 'just pop £2 in the wooden box'.  Wonderful.

Tuesday, 12 September 2017

Keep it Cold

Wild Strawberry Cafe at Peterley Manor Farm, Gt Missenden keeps it simple - free cold water.

Monday, 11 September 2017

Caffeine Dealers & Local Milk Pushers

200 Degrees in Birmingham proudly declare they are "proprietors of distinctive coffee shops and unashamedly proud to be coffee geeks".  Many more stories from here courtesy of my wonderful cafe spy reporter cum Breckland Orchard drink supplier Claire Martinsen.

Friday, 8 September 2017

Thursday, 7 September 2017

Wednesday, 6 September 2017

Lord Lucan

 
How to explain away, with humour, that your coffee machine is not working

Tuesday, 5 September 2017

Spiralised Salad

 Wholefoods is switched on about salad trends - Raw Pasta Salad with courgettes, carrots, basil, cashews, pumpkin seeds and dressing (and no pasta!) and a take on Quinoa Salad.
Spiralised Butternut Squash and Beetroot




Monday, 4 September 2017

Pearls of ... Beetroot

 Skinny Beetroot 'Pearls' - mini sponges piped with a quark based cream cheese frosting from the Skinny Bakery @SkinnyBakery
 Chocolate 'Pearls' - mini sponges piped with tofu-yoghurt chocolate frosting

Friday, 1 September 2017

Feel Inspired

 Pure offers water on tap and healthy breakfasts - wholegrain croissants, eggs and smoked salmon, bacon and avocado toasted bagel.

Thursday, 31 August 2017

An American who gets British Humour

 Mini-me cake (four textured chocolate cake), Eton Mess Lunchbox, After the Rain Mousse Cake and Paris-London pastry demonstrate the fun, innovation and humour at Dominique Ansel's bakery cafe.

Wednesday, 30 August 2017

Delicious needs a Kitchen

 
 Pure make play of their on-site kitchens

Tuesday, 29 August 2017

Cookie Shots

 Cookie Shots at Dominique Ansel - a moist, soft chocolate chip cookie shaped as a shot glass served with vanilla milk.

Monday, 28 August 2017

Keep Dry

A nice touch outside a London office block - umbrella bags.

Friday, 25 August 2017

Shake a Change

 Protein Shakes in take away bottles and raw ingredients out on display at Simple Health Kitchen

Thursday, 24 August 2017

Master of Innovation

Dominique Ansel's UK outpost in Victoria displays real innovation, humour and quality - Kiwi Sorbet Bar with kiwi sorbet, vanilla ice cream, poppyseeds, and fuzzy milk chocolate.

Wednesday, 23 August 2017

I'm New

EAT's Beetroot & Feta Wrap with roast beetroot, feta, tabbouleh, tzatziki and spinach.

Tuesday, 22 August 2017

Royal Salute

Look carefully at Dominique Ansel's Chocolate Eclair and you will see the Queen and her Corgis!

Monday, 21 August 2017

Make an Entrance

Peggy Porschen cakes makes a streetwise statement in Belgravia.

Friday, 18 August 2017

Thursday, 17 August 2017

Set for the Day

Broccoli & Corn Fritters and Coconut Bread French Toast at Timmy Green, part of the Daisy Green Collection, in Victoria hits the breakfast spot.  See @DaisyGreenFood

Wednesday, 16 August 2017

Raw Sweets

 Quite hard to find a cake with flour in it nowadays (although Great Cafes will, don't worry) - 'raw' is everywhere and cashews, dates, maple syrup, coconut and almonds rule.  Vital Ingredients' Raw range of cakes.
 Simple Health Kitchen has raw Bountys and Snickers Bars


Tuesday, 15 August 2017

Simple Appeal

 Simple Health Kitchen only has two units at present but we will hear more from them - they have a winning formula of health, freshness and visual appeal - Lemon and Mint Water and Raspberry and Lime Water.

Monday, 14 August 2017

Lose The Wait

Tossed features some of the best technology for order from the desk or in store screen.  See http://greatcafes.blogspot.co.uk/2016/09/see-future-at-tossed.html and see the future.

Friday, 11 August 2017

Hot Food Offer

Fast expanding Soho Coffee Co knows that food offer has to be as interesting and reassuring as the coffee
 Hot Spuds, Super Tacos and Grain Pots